Use the Online status for the Student Group.


On the Welcome Page, un-tick the Online checkbox for the group and only tick it on when you are ready.


To prevent an individual student, go to the Students page, select the student and un-tick their online status.  Any student with an offline status is shown the Offline Instruction when attempting to login, they cannot make any changes but they can download any submitted preferences.